The Art Of Being Still

The art of being still. Unlike many other forms of art, there are multiple masters of this and they seem to be mostly unaware of their great gift. This blog is a simple presentation of some ways these masters demonstrate their skills and ideas about why I am not one of them. Of course, we ALL do it. It’s knowing when to take a step instead of going down with the falling branch, that I’m talking about.

It is something we are taught since childhood: “If you get lost, stay where you are.” or “if you get lost, go back to xyz location and wait.” For a lost child, this is sound advice, but where do you draw the line and teach the child that there is a time when action may be favorable over inaction? And if you teach them, will they know when to apply it?

I'm so tired of waiting for this job...

I’m so tired of waiting for this job…

Inaction is such a normal human behavior that it is timeless. It has a purpose. Sometimes, we must pause to reflect on our options, lessons and goals.

I'd better consider my options.

I’d better consider my options.

But for some, inaction becomes the “safe” thing to do. In this case, doing nothing is still doing something. “Hey Susie, what are you doing today?” “Nothing.” And then in reverse, we have also developed the illusion that we are making progress when we are actually going nowhere.

Sorry, I can't go today, I am going to be biking all afteroon

“I rode my bike six miles yesterday!”                                   “Oh! Where did you go?”                                                         “Nowhere.”

Why do we do this? The illusion of safety. We tell ourselves, “well, if I stay right here, nothing can go wrong.” Well, I have news for you, nothing will go right, either! Yes, likely things will appear to stay the same, but there is a problem. The world and society and time go on with or without you. Eventually, you will go out of style, you will fall behind the times, your friends and family will go on with life and where will you be? Still where you were.. “safe.” There they go, your stupid friends went on dates and got their hearts broken. Your old high school buddies went through tons of crap jobs before they found what they wanted. That girlfriend you used to have? She’s got all those kids now and some tattoos and spends all her time running her stupid etsy store. But not you, nooooo sir. You never had to endure any of that nonsense. You did the smart thing. You are a winner.

I have been still longer than anyone.

I have been still longer than anyone.

So, fine. Some people want to be still and there is merit to that. I am not talking about commitment, I’m talking about fear of the unknown. The pain is real and it is paralyzing. Some are never taught, some are but do not wish to take risks. Some have come to believe that they are “happy enough” where they are and there’s no sense in making a change that could lead to, you know, something else.

Just because you like where you are doesn’t mean there can be no better or equal place in the world. I do not understand the mentality of standing still. I understand pausing, I understand reflecting, giving thought to your future. I do not understand making a defined plan to never change. Is it a matter of confidence? Is it that you know in your heart that you are just where you belong? Perhaps I have yet to discover that. Perhaps I have a problem with wanting to check things out before I can get cozy where I am. Maybe I can’t commit to a decision. Perhaps we should ask my six children, or some of my professors from my last 7 years of school, or my husband who I’ve known for 17 years. Maybe those folks can shed light on my lack of ability to stick to something.

In summary I say, do not lie still. Still waters may run deep, but they also never change. Change may be a scary, without guarantees, and often leads to places you never expected, but it always results in something new. If that is something that you are afraid of or have no desire in, so be it. I enjoy pausing for a photo or a thought, or even a season. But the decision to stop, to never be curious, to never explore everything this life has to offer, that decision will be made for me by the universe, not at my own hand. I have yet to master the art of being still.

Know your home, but don’t be afraid to go out the front door.

Freedom is in the soul as strongly as is opression.

Leave a comment